Talk series inspired by Dippy

15 July 2021
Join us every week for Talkative Tuesdays, a series of talks, lectures and discussions inspired by Dippy the Dinosaur’s visit to Norwich Cathedral. The talks will focus on the encounter between faith and science through the ages, ranging from accounts of Creation in the Bible to mediaeval monasteries to today’s climate crisis.
Seb Falk
Tuesday 20 July
Evolution and Scripture
Speaker: The Revd Dr Ernest Lucas

Tuesday 27 July
The Light Ages: Ingenious Science in Medieval Monasteries
Speaker: Seb Falk

Tuesday 3 August
What has Dippy got to do with Climate Change?
Speakers: Dr Jim Graham, Amanda Fox and Elena Judd

Tuesday 10 August
Norfolk’s Deep History Coast
Speaker: Dr David Waterhouse

David Waterhouse
Tuesday 17 August
Norfolk Wildlife Trust
Speaker: Nick Acheson

Tuesday 24 August
Who was Dippy?
Speaker: Prof Ben Garrod

Tuesday 31 August
The Dinosaurs Rediscovered
Speaker: Prof Mike Benton

Tuesday 7 September
Of Dinosaurs and Dragons: The Awakening of Wonder
Speaker: Malcolm Guite

Tuesday 21 September
Dinosaurs, Evolution and Religion
Speaker: Dr Nick Spencer

Tuesday 28 September
COP26: cop out or a way to cope?
Speaker: The Bishop of Norwich, the Rt Revd Graham Usher

Bishop of Norwich
Tuesday 5 October
Adam Sedgwick: Darwin’s geological tutor, friend and adversary!
Speaker: Dr Douglas Palmer

Tuesday 12 October
Are we heading for extinction? Humanity and the climate crisis
Speakers: Dr Rachel Carmenta, Prof Robert Nicholls, Prof Jeff Price, Dr Rupert Read and Jean McNeil.

Tuesday 19 October
Concluding Reflections
Speaker: to be confirmed

All talks start at 7pm and entry is via the Dark Entry of the Cathedral's Cloister.
Tickets for each talk cost £5.
For more information and to book tickets, see the events page on our Dippy microsite.